Guilty Pleasures – but why?

The Gallery - Guilty PleasuresI thought I’d photograph three guilty pleasures in one go for this week’s entry to ‘The Gallery‘, but then it got me thinking… Why are these guilty pleasures?  Is there anything wrong with the fact that I like to sit down with some biscuits in front of Neighbours to do some blogging each lunchtime?

The obvious answer is ‘No’.  There is no reason why I shouldn’t sit down for half an hour of Aussie soap and enjoy surfing the net with a few biccies at the same time.

However, that doesn’t stop me feeling guilty.

It’s one of the main things I debate as a stay-at-home Mum – when am I allowed to relax?  I can’t really explain why I feel this way, but I feel like I should always be ‘working’, I find it really hard to sit down during the day.  Of course there are always things to do – washing, ironing, preparing tea, cleaning, organising, making party invitations (eek still haven’t done that one!) – no end of things I can do while my wee one is napping.  I feel I should be taking the opportunity while she is asleep to get on with it so that I can give her my full attention when she is awake.

But I know too that there is nothing wrong with sitting down and putting my feet up for half an hour… or more!  In fact I’m doing it right now, and when I stop over-thinking it, it feels great!

Pop over to The Gallery: Guilty Pleasures to see the other entries this week!

15 thoughts on “Guilty Pleasures – but why?

  1. I know exactly what you mean about feeling guilty over a little break when a SAHM, often think I had far more time to relax when I had a busy job in the city. I do love those moments when my son falls asleep pinning me down and well I just have to use my iPad then or watch tv… 🙂

    • Napping during the day isn’t something I’ve ever managed, but you are right – I must remember that at work I’d have got a wander around the shops at lunchtime, so the least I should get is a wee seat with my laptop!

  2. Isn’t guilt one of those things you sign up for that no-one tells you about before you have kids? You don’t play with them enough, there are jobs to do, you should let your husband chill out while you do the bath. I wish we could all just get rid of it, but sadly I think it’s hardwired in!

  3. Gosh yes, I totally empathise with this. It sort of felt okay with a newborn – I think I spent the first three months plopped on the sofa, breastfeeding and flicking between One Born Every Minute and Britain’s Next Top Model without worrying about it… but as DorkySon has got older I’ve definitely felt that guilt creeping in if I sit down and chill out. I think because there is ALWAYS something to do, be it dishes, tidying, washing or whatever. If you were at work in an office you’d have a lunchbreak or a coffee break though, so try and see it in the same way 🙂

    • Hi, good to have you visit! I think it is just as she has got a wee bit older that it has kicked in, yes, wasn’t aware of it too much when I was still breastfeeding and had to be there for her every cry! It’s true about the coffee breaks & lunch though – and blogging is kind of ‘work’ if we look at it as researching issues to help us bring up our wee ones!

  4. I too feel the guilt! But the washing up will get done at some point …. and a happy mummy is the most important thing in the home – without a happy mummy the place falls apart!

  5. Pingback: New Blogs we Love! | Netmums Blog

  6. I think I have finally cleared up most of my mothers guilt. its taken a while. my eldest is 13.
    I would say its down to 10% 🙂
    I remember in the early days as a sahm I felt a huge weight of guilt from every angle. for not earning, for not being the perfect mother for being a milestone round my husbands neck and on it would go.
    I think its probably a confidence thing. We are all so vulnerable in those early days (years) it takes a good few years to feel comfortable in your sahm skin. I no longer feel the need to justify myself, my exisitance or my parenting skills and I know my hubby is happy and grateful for what I do. I am contented in my choices now, I seriously think the working world is over rated and what makes someone who is working for money a more viable person than someone raising people? take your moments with your feet up when you can, I say. life has its ways of keeping you on your toes when you least expect it and we are all in this for the long haul after all.

Leave a Reply

