Is this Autumn?

Summer was a bit of a wipe-out here in North East Scotland; other than a day here or there my shorts were rarely out.  On one of the very few occasions that I ventured out without my buggy rain cover I ended up having to shelter under a bridge for ages and then run home with a soaking baby!

Autumn Leaves - Boston IvyToday, for the second day in a row I woke up to beautiful sunshine.  The colours in the garden are starting to turn autumnal (see our fabulous Boston Ivy in this photo!) so I am thinking that it’s worth giving up on summer and hoping for a nice mild autumn.

Autumn has several advantages over summer anyway – you don’t have to worry about sun-cream quite as much, the colours are fantastic, there are conkers (can’t wait for my wee one to be old enough to play with them!) and I love the sound of the leaves on the ground as I walk through them!  Ok I’m sounding like a bit of a child with those last two – but then I am a bit of a child at heart.

It did make me think about how much the weather can affect our mood though. The minute I saw the sun was out I definitely felt happier.  I had a spring in my step as I could push the pram up to our Jo Jingles class, and enjoyed walking to the post office on the way back – no need for wrapping up in lots of clothes, bundling the wee one in and out of the car, finding parking spaces, and running for cover between shops!

2 thoughts on “Is this Autumn?

  1. Yes, summer has been a wash out here in the north east of England as well. I don’t actually remember any decent days during the summer hols. We had our summer back in May, same as last year.

    CJ xx

Leave a Reply

