Upstairs, Downstairs, DIY!

This post lacks focus – there are so many different things I want to say that I should probably split it into several posts, but I don’t want to!  I want it to be one post and I want it to be quite brief (because I have a short attention span, and am a bit pressed for time this week too!)

Nursery ShelvesSo, my wee ones nursery used to have two completely pointless cupboards in it – so narrow they weren’t any good at all!  They also had dark wooden doors that I felt darkened the room.  I took the decision to remove the doors and put shelves in!  As you can see from the photo the final result is great (well, I think it is!)  I now have 6 shelves where each cupboard was, and can put things for my wee one to play with on the lower shelves, while keeping things safely out of reach higher up.  I got a joiner to help put the shelves in but I did all the filling in of dodgy walls & painting myself and am quite proud of the final result!

Now, during the decorating period we moved her upstairs (we sleep downstairs) as I mentioned in a previous post.  I’ve always thought that when she is older we will move her upstairs, but have been a bit nervous about it when our room is downstairs.  I remember when we bought the house somebody saying that it was better to sleep on the same level as your wee ones and that we might find it a bit problematic that our bedrooms are split between downstairs and upstairs.  So I find myself in a bit of a quandary…

But… while she was upstairs I loved it!  She is a light sleeper and so she often wakes in the evening – but the whole time she was upstairs she slept all night long and there were no worries about her waking – we could stomp about as much as we wanted downstairs!  So rather than being excited about moving her back down into her newly decorated nursery, I do so with trepidation that I’m in for more tip-toeing around and worrying about waking her up!

5 thoughts on “Upstairs, Downstairs, DIY!

  1. Pingback: Something lovely for me! | Pictorial Mum

Leave a Reply

